HomeCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 

I don't know what my further steps are

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Stasya

PostSubject: I don't know what my further steps are   Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:33 am

I' m going to convert in Reform movement. About one month I had a conversation with a wonderful women Rabbi about my conversion. I worried a lot and didn't convince her to accept me to the giyur preparement course.She said that she would return to the Ņonversation. I must have have a real motivation from her point of view. My faith in G-d it is very good but it isn' t a real motivation to become Jewish.
Now in a month of taking an active part in the community life I feel that a real motivation is to share my destiny with a Jewish nation.

I am studying and reading a lot but I don't what my further steps how to convince her, show that Judaism is my life and there is no another G-d and a way to live. Is it convenient to ask the rabbi to appoint a meeting in 3-4 months after the first meeting? Is there a tradition for a Reform rabbi to refuse a conversation 3 times?
I uderstand that each rabbi has its own conversion politics but I am worrying a lot and don't know how to behave right.
Back to top Go down
Mychal

PostSubject: Re: I don't know what my further steps are   Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:28 pm

I'm kind of surprised she wouldn't even let you into the class, seeing how learning more can make it clear whether you do or don't want to convert. (All of the intro/conversion classes I've heard about always come with the caveat that you are not obligated to convert after taking them, nor are you guaranteed a conversion.) Although, if the rabbi works with people on an individual basis, she may want to be pretty sure you're going to convert before devoting a lot of time.