HomeCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ilovetchotchkes

avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2012-03-05

PostSubject: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:52 am

I know this is a long shot, but one of my seder guests has a condition that isn't celiacs but is very very similar. Any kind of grains make her REALLY sick.

She's not Jewish (yet- she's at the very beginning in the process of converting!) so both of us are at a loss as to WHERE to get something she can eat as "matzah".

Any suggestions? I looked at the grocery store that usually carries a TON of stuff, and found only gluten free. Which will do in a pinch, but if she eats too much of it, she'll get really sick and she really wants to enjoy the holiday.

If I have to order something off the web, i'd be fine with that too.

I'm in the Chicago area if that helps any.

Back to top Go down
Dena

avatar

Posts : 678
Join date : 2011-09-05
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:12 pm

What kind did you find at the store? What I have is made from potato starch which isn't a grain. Does that bother her too?
Back to top Go down
searchinmyroots

avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2011-12-01
Location : New York

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:15 pm

I thought Gluten free means it doesn't have wheat?

Maybe I'm wrong.

I know most products for Passover are made with potato starch as Dena pointed out.

I guess you'll have to look at the ingredients?

I looked on the internet but could only find gluten free.

I hope you find something!!
Back to top Go down
ilovetchotchkes

avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2012-03-05

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:15 pm

Dena wrote:
What kind did you find at the store? What I have is made from potato starch which isn't a grain. Does that bother her too?

I didnt' see any made from potato starch! I'm going to call them and look. There's a few more grocery stores I could call too. i just went into the "Kosher Jewel" (Albertsons).
Back to top Go down
Dena

avatar

Posts : 678
Join date : 2011-09-05
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:20 pm

This is what I buy. It does say "matzo style" because it's made from potato but since your friend hasn't converted yet I really wouldn't worry about that.

Gluten Free
Back to top Go down
ilovetchotchkes

avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2012-03-05

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:35 pm

Dena wrote:
This is what I buy. It does say "matzo style" because it's made from potato but since your friend hasn't converted yet I really wouldn't worry about that.

Gluten Free

Fabulous! I have a feeling once she makes it official, her rabbi will probably tell her to err on the side of her health. :)
Back to top Go down
Debbie B.

avatar

Posts : 373
Join date : 2011-09-05
Location : Chicagoland

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:07 pm

@ilovechotchkes:
I saw the Gluten-free "matzo-style squares" that Dena mentions at the Jewel in Skokie and I'm sure that the Jewel on Howard in Evanston and the rabbinically supervised Hungarian Kosher Foods would also carry that product. By "Kosher Jewel", I assume that you mean the Jewel stores that have especially large Kosher sections such as the Evanston or Highland Park stores, since there is no Jewel that is totally kosher. Since you are in the Chicago area, you should check out Hungarian for Passover food, or just kosher food, in general. They also have the largest kosher wine selection in the mid-west. Just remember that it closes early on Friday afternoons and is not open on Shabbat or Yom Tov.
Back to top Go down
Dena

avatar

Posts : 678
Join date : 2011-09-05
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:41 pm

ilovetchotchkes wrote:


Fabulous! I have a feeling once she makes it official, her rabbi will probably tell her to err on the side of her health. :)

Probably. Mine did but I don't always listen. Razz
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....   

Back to top Go down
 
needing grain free matzah. Not just gluten free....
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: Jewish Fundamentals :: Jewish Ritual and Mitzvot-
Jump to: