Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

I'm still alive!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
SaraK

SaraK

I'm still alive! Empty
PostSubject: I'm still alive!   I'm still alive! EmptyThu Sep 13, 2012 9:38 am

Hi everyone,

I'm sorry for my long absence, I had to go and think without the distraction of the internet for a while.

I'm still converting. I'll be meeting with the rabbi (who doesn't live permanently here in CPH) and some of the senior members of the progressive shul. I've made a friend who is also converting and she's very helpful with what I need to know. I'm attending shul on Erev Rosh Hashanah, on Rosh Hashanah, and hopefully on the evening of Yom Kippur but my clinical training (I can't remember how much I told you about what I do, but I'm studying nursing now, which I wasn't before) begins on the same day as Yom Kippur and I'm at a place where I need to take that very seriously. Hopefully, next year I will fast on Yom Kippur, but not this. If everything goes well I'll be attending shul regularly from here on out, so that's very exciting!

Anyway, I'm very excited about that and then hopefully all I need to do to officially be in the program is submit an essay and have it accepted, become a member of the shul and then the conversion course begins in December as far as I can tell.

I hope you are all doing well, and I'd love to hear what you have going on in your lives and with your conversions at the moment!

Love,
Sara
Back to top Go down
Mychal

Mychal

I'm still alive! Empty
PostSubject: Re: I'm still alive!   I'm still alive! EmptyThu Sep 13, 2012 4:44 pm

Yom Kippur observance is given priority over all jobs or activities except where human life is in the balance. So people who are nurses or doctors will fall under the exemption. (Police, the military, and women in labor or close to it are the other usual exemptions.)