Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Music that speaks to your conversion?

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
shocheradam

shocheradam

Music that speaks to your conversion? Empty
PostSubject: Music that speaks to your conversion?   Music that speaks to your conversion? EmptyFri May 02, 2014 5:13 pm

I'm a musician first, and always have been. Lately, I've been looking into Jewish popular music, and discovered an amazing Reform singer named Neshama Carlebach. Her song "Return Again" hit me so hard that I almost couldn't breathe, because that feeling I've been describing as "The pull"? The feeling I couldn't find words for? Well, this song describes it completely and exactly.

Return to who you are
Return to what you are
Return to where you are born and reborn again

That's what the pull is. It's a call for me to return. I recommend the song; you can find it on Spotify or YouTube. (The rest of her music is awesome too.)

Anyone out there have a song or a singer who speaks to your conversion?
Back to top Go down
Debbie B.

Debbie B.

PostSubject: Re: Music that speaks to your conversion?   Music that speaks to your conversion? EmptySun May 04, 2014 12:18 am

I do not believe it is accurate to call Neshama Carlebach "Reform". She is the daughter of the well-known and revered Orthodox rabbi Shlomo Carlebach who expressed his deep spirituality through beautiful and moving melodies that he created for singing many traditional verses and liturgy as well as wordless nigunim. He is the one to whom Daniel Eliezer wants to introduce members of this forum. Neshama has clearly inherited her father's musical gifts and ability to express Jewish feeling through music.